Prairie Crossing at Twenty: From Pioneering Design to Vibrant Community

1 – 5:30 p.m. Sun., Aug. 30 at the Prairie Crossing Charter School Gym

Celebrate the twentieth anniversary of the first Prairie Crossing home with its original architects and planners from 1 – 5:30 p.m. Sun., Aug. 30 at the Prairie Crossing Charter School Gym, 1531 Jones Point Road, Grayslake. Learn the thought that went into the development of this nationally recognized conservation community and the architecture of individual home models. This event is open to anyone interested in learning about the Prairie Crossing conservation community – not just Prairie Crossing residents. While this event is most appropriate for adults, youth ages 12 and older who are interested in architecture are welcome to attend with their parents. Online advance registration is required for this free and educational event – click here to register. Registration is limited, so sign up today!

“Prairie Crossing at Twenty: From Pioneering Design to Vibrant Community” features presentations and discussion by the architects and planners of Prairie Crossing, including developers George and Vicky Ranney. Blair Kamin, Pulitzer Prize-winning architecture critic of the Chicago Tribune, will moderate the discussion. Confirmed speakers include:

  • Steve Apfelbaum – ecologist and principal of Applied Ecological Services responsible for restoration of the hydrology and design of the storm water train at Prairie Crossing
  • Philip Enquist – landscape architect and planner for the transit-oriented south end of Prairie Crossing, including Station Village
  • Gunny Harboe – restoration architect of the Byron Colby Barn
  • Bill Johnson – original landscape architect for the entire Prairie Crossing site
  • Mark Keane and Linda Keane – architects of the Bradbury, Bradbury II, Brooks, Prairie School, and Prairie School II home models and Station Square
  • Margaret McCurry – architect of the Addams, Halsey, Halsey II, Harrison, Joice, and Ogilvie home models as well as the playhouse on Hedgerow
  • Don McKay, principal and President, Nagle Hartray Architecture. Nagle Hartray is the firm responsible for the designs of the Altgeld, Douglas, Gage, Garland, Ingalls, Ingalls II, Lowden, Stevenson, and Stevenson II home models and the Kennicott building at the Prairie Crossing Charter School
  • Betsy Pettit – architect of the Burnham, Foursquare and Watts home models
  • Rick Phillips – architect of the Haines, Jensen, Jensen II, Kennicott, Lincoln, Lincoln II, Olmsted, Perkins, and Wright home models and the Prairie Crossing stables
  • Mike Sands – environmental team leader who implemented Prairie Crossing’s prairies and wetlands, and the Prairie Crossing Farm
  • Bill Sturm – architect of two classroom buildings and the gymnasium at the Prairie Crossing Charter School
  • Todd Wiltse – architect of the Wacker, Burnham, and Bennett buildings at Station Square

Following an hors d’oeuvres reception and the formal presentation at the PCCS gym, tours of select private homes and community buildings will be provided by the original architects as well as tours of Prairie Crossing and its unique, defining features. Tours are scheduled from 3:30-5:30. Click here to download a fact sheet on the buildings and architects of Prairie Crossing.

We invite you to learn how ideals for community, land, water, and architecture were woven together in the design of Prairie Crossing. Click here to register for this free and educational event – advance registration is required. This event is sponsored by the Prairie Crossing Homeowners’ Association and the Liberty Prairie Foundation.